The All-Time Grambling NFL Team

Buck Buchanan, Willie Brown and more

Albert Lewis went to four Pro Bowls with the Kansas City Chiefs, intercepted 42 career passes and ranks third all-time in games played by a cornerback in NFL history.

But that resume couldn’t land Lewis a spot on the all-time Grambling NFL team – not at cornerback, anyway. But Lewis finds himself on that team for his special-teams prowess as a kick blocker. He blocked 12 kicks during his 16-year career.

Lewis would be the nickel back in a Grambling secondary that would feature Hall of Famer Willie Brown and Everson Walls at the corners. Brown was named to the NFL’s 100th anniversary team and Walls is the only cornerback in history to lead the league in interceptions three times. Only one other player has led the league in interceptions three times – first-ballot Hall of Fame safety Ed Reed.

Grambling has long been a marketplace for cornerbacks. The Tigers have sent nine corners to the NFL that intercepted at least 10 career passes. Combined, those nine corners played 91 seasons, intercepted 283 passes and went to 19 Pro Bowls.

Brown and Lewis played 16 seasons apiece, Walls 13 and Nehemiah Wilson 11. Brown went to nine Pro Bowls, Lewis and Walls four apiece and Wilson and Willie Williams one each. Walls intercepted 57 passes, Brown 54, Lewis 42, Williams 35, Wilson and James Hunter 27 apiece, Delles Howell 17, Goldie Sellers 13 and Fakhir Brown 11.

Brown is one of four Hall of Famers on the all-time Grambling NFL team, which also includes a past Super Bowl MVP (Doug Williams) and the first HBCU player ever selected first overall in a draft (Buck Buchanan).

Here is the Grambling team:

QB—Doug Williams, 1988 Super Bowl MVP

HB—Essex Johnson, 9 seasons, 3,296 rushing yards, 31 TDs

FB—Tank Younger, 4 Pro Bowls, 10 seasons, 3,640 yards, 35 TDs

WR—Charlie Joiner, Hall of Fame

WR—Sammy White, 2 Pro Bowls, 10 seasons, 363 receptions, 50 TDs

TE—Andrew Glover, 10 seasons, 339 receptions, 24 touchdowns

T—Willie Young, 10 seasons, 119 starts

T—Lane Howell, 7 seasons, 62 starts

G—Woody Peoples, 2 Pro Bowls, 12 seasons, 153 starts

G—Al Dennis, 3 seasons, 31 starts

C—Ron Singleton, 5 seasons, 39 starts

DE—Willie Davis, Hall of Fame

DE—Billy Newsome, 8 seasons, 39 ½ sacks

DT—Buck Buchanan, Hall of Fame

DT—Ernie “Big Cat” Ladd, 4 Pro Bowls, 8 seasons, 33 ½ sacks

OLB—Garland Boyette, 2 Pro Bowls, 9 seasons, 86 starts, 2 FR

MLB—Henry Davis, Pro Bowl, 6 seasons, 52 starts, 4 interceptions

OLB—Robert Pennywell, 4 seasons, 42 starts

CB—Willie Brown, Hall of Fame

CB—Everson Walls, 4 Pro Bowls, 13 seasons, 57 interceptions

S—Rosey Taylor, 2 Pro Bowls, 12 seasons, 32 interceptions

S—Mike Howell, 8 seasons, 27 interceptions

P—Willie Williams, Pro Bowl CB, 10 punts for NYG in 1968

KR—Goldie Sellers, 46 career kick & punt returns, 2 touchdowns

ST—Bennie Thompson, 2 Pro Bowls, one with the Saints, one with the Ravens

KB—Albert Lewis, 4 Pro Bowls at CB, 11 career blocked kick

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.